70% off Today Only! Magical Realism from the NYT Bestseller List!

70% off Today Only! Magical Realism from the NYT Bestseller List!

A Dog’s Purpose, by W. Bruce Cameron

$2.99 Kindle Sale ($9.99) Today Only!

Magical realism. A genre tied closely to fantasy, where the magic happens in the everyday world. When done well, it makes for a truly special treat, and today’s bookaholic deal is one of the best examples of its kind. Sitting at an unheard-of 4.8 on Amazon with over 5,000 reviews (and another 48,000 5-star ratings on Goodreads), this New York Times bestseller captured hearts around the world and became a major motion picture.

In this dog story with a twist, the dog isn’t born, but re-born, time and time again. And the dog is… well… a dog. He’s not a personified dog, who understands human speech and would love to sit down for tea if only he spoke English and had opposable thumbs. He’s a dog. Who loves his family and also loves rolling in the smelliest stuff on the planet. He doesn’t know why he keeps finding himself in new puppy lives, time and time again, but he’s determined to find out.

Get the deal!

Continue reading “70% off Today Only! Magical Realism from the NYT Bestseller List!”

Massive Sale on The Sword of Shannara Trilogy

Massive Sale on The Sword of Shannara Trilogy

gold stargold stargold stargold stargold star

$2.99 Kindle sale ($19.99)

Usually $19.99 in ebook format, the entire hit trilogy by Terry Brooks, The Sword of Shannara, is on sale, collected in a single volume, for only $2.99. Now a classic, this has become one of those must-own series for any fantasy collection to be complete. (Yes, there are several more in the series, but these are the original three that started it all.) We read it ages ago. Lasting impressions? Loved the main character! Four and a half stars for the story, rounding up for longevity and influence on the market.

The deal will only last a few days, so snap it up fast. We sure did!

Get the deal!

Continue reading “Massive Sale on The Sword of Shannara Trilogy”

Alpha Girl: one of my favorite “fun read” series!

Alpha Girl: one of my favorite “fun read” series!

Books one and two are FREE on Kindle!

I call them “fun reads.” It’s my own category, but I’m sure you have one just like it. The books can come from any genre, but they have to suck me in from the beginning, hold my attention to the end, and be easy to read all the way through. They can be thrilling or adventurous or sexy or funny, but they’re all just plain fun.

Aileen Erin’s Alpha Girl series is all of these at once, and it’s one of my absolute favorites.

Continue reading “Alpha Girl: one of my favorite “fun read” series!”

“Of all the materials Mg. Aviosky could have chosen–glass, metal, plastic, even rubber–she had chosen <i>paper</i>.”

“Of all the materials Mg. Aviosky could have chosen–glass, metal, plastic, even rubber–she had chosen paper.”

$1.99 Kindle Sale ($3.99)

Short-listed for the 2015 ALA Fantasy Reading List, The Paper Magician has been on our radar for a while now. The sample is superb, with the kind of elegant writing we both adore, and the story… well… call us intrigued. Ceony Twill is nineteen. She’s just graduated from the Tagis Praff School for the Magically Inclined, only to have her dream of metal-spelling ripped away when she’s assigned, instead, to paper.

But paper magic is a dying art, and for good reason. What use, after all, is paper?

Get the deal!

Continue reading ““Of all the materials Mg. Aviosky could have chosen–glass, metal, plastic, even rubber–she had chosen paper.””

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Book Two

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Book Two

Hollow City, by Ransom Riggs

$3.99 Kindle Sale! ($9.99)

We won’t often choose a second book in a series for a daily deal pick, but when it’s the second book of Miss Peregrine’s, we’ll make an exception. Not only is it a bestselling series, but the first book was (as you probably already know) a major motion picture. If you decide to watch the movie and start reading with book two, we won’t tell anyone.

We promise.

Continue reading “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Book Two”

A Guilty Pleasure Coming-of-Age Story with Hidden Depths

A Guilty Pleasure Coming-of-Age Story with Hidden Depths

Clan of the Cave Bear, by Jean M. Auel

$2.99 Kindle Sale! ($8.99)

This was a total guilty pleasure for me when I first read it. (And not just this book, but the whole series.) I hadn’t thought of it in ages, but then I discovered that it’s on sale. So today, you get a review and a sale. Not too shabby.

At its heart, Clan of the Cave Bear is an ugly duckling story, set in a time when the precursors of modern humanity still lived alongside a competitive species. A little girl, Ayla, is orphaned and raised by the others, who are at once eerily similar and yet so very different. Most of them do not fully accept her–because she is not Clan. And so she learns not to accept herself.

Continue reading “A Guilty Pleasure Coming-of-Age Story with Hidden Depths”

“Crackling with energy, just the ticket for an all-night read.”–Kirkus Reviews

“Crackling with energy, just the ticket for an all-night read.”–Kirkus Reviews

$1.99 Kindle Sale! ($9.99)

This #1 New York Times bestselling YA fantasy has been killing it. It’s sitting at a gorgeous 4.13 on Goodreads with almost 36,000 ratings. If you haven’t picked yours up yet, now’s the time!

From the publisher:

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwaba young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Get the Deal! (Limited time offer.)

Continue reading ““Crackling with energy, just the ticket for an all-night read.”–Kirkus Reviews”

Spells & Sugar: Recipe for Fun!

Spells & Sugar: Recipe for Fun!

Deadly Sweet, by Lola Dodge

All Anise wants is to become a pastry chef, but applying to college isn’t easy when you’re a witch. Shouldn’t magic make her life easier? In small ways, maybe. But baking a little happiness into cookies isn’t the same thing as waving a magic wand and making all your dreams come true. Normal people are scared of her, and even her own mother—the only other witch Anise has ever known—would rather she didn’t use her powers at all.

When Anise is assaulted at a local fair, her untempered magic comes to her rescue, incinerating the baking tent and leaving a trail of crime behind. Then, with superior witchy timing, Anise’s great-aunt invites her to apprentice at the only witch-sanctioned bakery in the country, and Anise jumps at the chance. But things go from bad to worse as Anise discovers that finally embracing her power might come with a terrible price.

Continue reading “Spells & Sugar: Recipe for Fun!”