One of our 5-star picks is more than 70% off today only!

One of our 5-star picks is more than 70% off today only!

Warcross, by Marie Lu

We love this read, and for *today only* the ebook is massively on sale! We reviewed it a couple months ago. Our bottom line? “A gaming thriller with a strong romantic subplot, Warcross is an engaging read that left us eager for the next installment!” From the moment we saw it on sale, we couldn’t wait to share the deal with you!

(Don’t forget! The second book in the series, Wildcard, comes out September 18!)

   

Continue reading “One of our 5-star picks is more than 70% off today only!”

$0.99 sale on scifi gaming fiction! (For fans of Ready Player One or Warcross.)

$0.99 sale on scifi gaming fiction! (For fans of Ready Player One or Warcross.)

Nexis, by A. L. Davroe

We don’t remember seeing this cover before today, but that’s what we love most about book sales. The new gems we discover! This one’s a virtual reality gaming read, in the vein of Ready Player One or Warcross, with added themes of genetically altered aristocrats, and a main character who’s just a plain-old unaltered human, muddling through life like the rest of us.

Reviewers are saying it’s more than they expected, and we can’t wait to try it. At $0.99 instead of the usual $5.99, we couldn’t resist!

Continue reading “$0.99 sale on scifi gaming fiction! (For fans of Ready Player One or Warcross.)”

83% off Gears of War Aspho Fields – the military sci-fi prequel to the blockbuster games!

83% off Gears of War Aspho Fields – the military sci-fi prequel to the blockbuster games!

Gears of War Aspho Fields, by Karen Traviss

$1.99 Kindle Sale ($11.99)

Gaming. Yeah, we’ve dabbled. From Tuesday raids in World of Warcraft to Friday clan nights in Call of Duty, there’s nothing like fighting the good fight with 5 to 40 of your best friends chilling in voice chat. But if you watched any of the E3 broadcasts this year, you’ll know there are few fandoms as enthusiastic as the Gears of War crowd. Gears 5, Gears Pop!, Gears Tactics… the screams just kept coming. Gears readers will be glad to know the franchise is producing books as fast as it is gaming titles. If not faster.

Aspho Fields is the official prequel, which has us pretty stoked. We’ve always been suckers for backstory. Action and danger are so much more powerful when you’re invested in the characters, and that’s just as true for games as it is for books. Imagine how much richer the gaming experience would be if we went into it knowing the characters inside and out already. How much more thrilling the victories, and how much more heart wrenching the losses. Sounds intense, right? We think so, too, and now’s our chance to find out.

Pick up Gears of War Aspho Fields for just $1.99 for a limited time!

Continue reading “83% off Gears of War Aspho Fields – the military sci-fi prequel to the blockbuster games!”

Intriguing Plot with a Heroine We Love

Intriguing Plot with a Heroine We Love

Warcross, by Marie Lu

Emika Chen is a young bounty hunter in trouble. Her father is dead, there’s an eviction notice on the door, and her last bounty just got poached out from under her. Desperate for cash, she hacks into Warcross, the world’s biggest virtual reality game, only to get caught—in front of the largest viewing public in history.

But instead of throwing her in jail, the game’s billionaire designer—a shy, dreamboat of a guy with a troubled past—reaches out with an offer: Help them tighten up security. There’s another hacker out there, determined to sabotage the global Warcross tournament at any cost.

And he’s not staying in the game.

Continue reading “Intriguing Plot with a Heroine We Love”

Rare. Epic. Legendary.

Rare. Epic. Legendary.

Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline

In a future of limited resources and failing infrastructure, humanity lives out its dreams in a massive virtual reality game-world. Wade Watts is a high school student, getting an elite education for free despite his impoverished real-world life, because that was the vision of the game’s creator: unlimited access to knowledge, for rich and poor alike, where every kid has a genuine opportunity to make something of themselves. But not everyone wants to keep it that way.

The original programmer is dead, and a prize is hidden in the game. Whoever decodes the clues first will inherit his billions—and control the virtual universe. Wade has been searching for years. If he wins, he can leave his life in “the stacks” behind, and he can protect the world he knows and loves. But big business is searching too. If they win, the world can say goodbye to free education. That could add up to trillions, and they’ll do anything to get it. Continue reading “Rare. Epic. Legendary.”