One of our 5-star picks is more than 70% off today only!

One of our 5-star picks is more than 70% off today only!

Warcross, by Marie Lu

We love this read, and for *today only* the ebook is massively on sale! We reviewed it a couple months ago. Our bottom line? “A gaming thriller with a strong romantic subplot, Warcross is an engaging read that left us eager for the next installment!” From the moment we saw it on sale, we couldn’t wait to share the deal with you!

(Don’t forget! The second book in the series, Wildcard, comes out September 18!)

   

Continue reading “One of our 5-star picks is more than 70% off today only!”

Only $0.99 for a fantastic collection of shorts in sci-fi and fantasy!

Only $0.99 for a fantastic collection of shorts in sci-fi and fantasy!

Writers of the Future, Volume 34

These volumes represent some of the most intriguing short fiction the world has to offer. The stories are curated each year from a global contest for up and coming authors, judged by the likes of Orson Scott Card, Brandon Sanderson, Jody Lynn Nye, Jerry Pournelle, Ciruelo and Echo Chernik. The winners often go on to have stellar careers, but you can read them here first! At only $0.99 today, it’s a great introduction to these anthologies.

Continue reading “Only $0.99 for a fantastic collection of shorts in sci-fi and fantasy!”

A. G. Riddle’s Departure! Last but not least in our 6-deal A. G. Riddle weekend extravaganza!

A. G. Riddle’s Departure! Last but not least in our 6-deal A. G. Riddle weekend extravaganza!

Departure, by A. G. Riddle

This one sounds like Lost meets… some kind of far-reaching conspiracy theory book, but we can only think of Dan Brown right now and we’ve already used him as a comparison. But, hey, if the shoe fits. On the other hand, it might be a little bit Lost meets Richard Feynman. (Nobel Prize winning physicist? We’ll get to him some other time.)

Our point is that the science involved here is more time travel / physics than genetics / biology, but that only excites us even more. Any sci-fi thriller author who branches out into different fields captures our attention for sure, and at only $1.99 right now, this one is the best deal yet.

Continue reading “A. G. Riddle’s Departure! Last but not least in our 6-deal A. G. Riddle weekend extravaganza!”

A. G. Riddle’s Extinction Files series! 2 more sci-fi mystery thrillers to get your heart pumping!

A. G. Riddle’s Extinction Files series! 2 more sci-fi mystery thrillers to get your heart pumping!

The Extinction Files series, by A. G. Riddle

This next series in our A. G. Riddle extravaganza weekend ties together a deadly outbreak and mysterious research lying in a lost submarine at the bottom of the ocean. We bought both of these, too, based on the blurbs and the strength of the Pandemic preview.

Did we read the Genome preview? Of course not! We hate spoilers as much as you do! But we have a feeling A. G. Riddle is going to be one of our new favorite authors, so we picked them both up today, while they’re still on sale.

Continue reading “A. G. Riddle’s Extinction Files series! 2 more sci-fi mystery thrillers to get your heart pumping!”

A. G. Riddle’s Origin Mystery trilogy! The first of 6 sci-fi thriller deals to rev up your weekend!

A. G. Riddle’s Origin Mystery trilogy! The first of 6 sci-fi thriller deals to rev up your weekend!

The Origin Mystery series, by A. G. Riddle

The Guardian has said that Riddle’s books read like a “collaboration between Dan Brown and Michael Crichton.” Diana Gabaldon, the author of Outlander, has called them “well-constructed and tightly-wound as a fine Swiss watch.” Each of the Origin Mystery titles is only $2.49 this weekend. In fact, all of A. G. Riddle’s ebooks are on sale this weekend, and we picked up every one.

This first series is in development to be a major motion picture. It ties together a mysterious structure hidden beneath the ice in Antarctica,  one woman’s genetic research to cure autism, and a secret society that believes an extinction event is about to wipe out more than 99% of humanity. We love a real edge-of-your-seat thriller series, especially when the science (good, solid science) takes a back seat and lets the characters drive the story. We can’t wait to sink our teeth into this one!

Continue reading “A. G. Riddle’s Origin Mystery trilogy! The first of 6 sci-fi thriller deals to rev up your weekend!”

50% off this sci-fi thriller! A million-copy bestseller, now in development by 20th Century Fox!

50% off this sci-fi thriller! A million-copy bestseller, now in development by 20th Century Fox!

CyberStorm, by Matthew Mather

Picked this up tonight after finding the deal and reading the sample. The entire sample. It’s rare that a book pulls us in that hard. The chapters are labelled by date, jumping forward without tedious fillers. November 25. December 8. But there’s no skimping on character development. It’s just brilliantly tight and efficient.

In a few short pages we love the hero. Love the kids. Feeling ambiguous about Lauren. (As we’re supposed to.) Love the neighbors. Except Richard, that is. Truly despising Richard. Any writer who can make us feel this much about so many people in so little time deserves at least one read. At this price, this is the one.

Continue reading “50% off this sci-fi thriller! A million-copy bestseller, now in development by 20th Century Fox!”

$0.99 sale on scifi gaming fiction! (For fans of Ready Player One or Warcross.)

$0.99 sale on scifi gaming fiction! (For fans of Ready Player One or Warcross.)

Nexis, by A. L. Davroe

We don’t remember seeing this cover before today, but that’s what we love most about book sales. The new gems we discover! This one’s a virtual reality gaming read, in the vein of Ready Player One or Warcross, with added themes of genetically altered aristocrats, and a main character who’s just a plain-old unaltered human, muddling through life like the rest of us.

Reviewers are saying it’s more than they expected, and we can’t wait to try it. At $0.99 instead of the usual $5.99, we couldn’t resist!

Continue reading “$0.99 sale on scifi gaming fiction! (For fans of Ready Player One or Warcross.)”

$0.99 total for 3 hilarious books! (Plus a short story we haven’t read that’s probably also funny.)

$0.99 total for 3 hilarious books! (Plus a short story we haven’t read that’s probably also funny.)

gold stargold stargold stargold stargold star

Hal Spacejock Omnibus One, by Simon Haynes

Have you ever wanted to toss your computer gently out a window? Now imagine if it could talk to you and move your stuff around when you weren’t looking. That’s how Hal Spacejock feels about his robot sidekick, Clunk, and for good reason. But just like your computer, there’s one big problem with tossing him out an airlock.

Continue reading “$0.99 total for 3 hilarious books! (Plus a short story we haven’t read that’s probably also funny.)”

Today only! Just $2.99 for Cinder: a dystopian Cinderella retelling that dominates the charts!

Today only! Just $2.99 for Cinder: a dystopian Cinderella retelling that dominates the charts!

Cinder, by Marissa Meyer

Today only! Pick up the first book in this New York Times bestselling series for just $2.99! If you haven’t heard about Cinder, you clearly don’t have your ear to the ground in the YA fairy-tale-retelling market. Sure, it’s a mouthful, but it’s a category we pay special attention to. Trust us when we say that Cinder has been dominating the charts. Pick it up today, before the deal… turns back into a pumpkin? Sure, let’s go with that.

Continue reading “Today only! Just $2.99 for Cinder: a dystopian Cinderella retelling that dominates the charts!”

The Meg! A book. A film. A prehistoric shark. And a whopper of a sale for just $2.49!

The Meg! A book. A film. A prehistoric shark. And a whopper of a sale for just $2.49!

MEG: A Novel of Deep Terror, by Steve Alten

What does a 70-foot shark eat? Anything it wants to.

The monster is huge, and the movie is even bigger, sitting at #1 this box office weekend. But the book deal is gigantic. Book one for just $2.49, and not one of the first five is more than $5 right now. If you’ve ever been tempted, now’s the time!

(P.S. It’s even a huge hit with reluctant readers!)

Continue reading “The Meg! A book. A film. A prehistoric shark. And a whopper of a sale for just $2.49!”

Visit Mars for just $1.99 with this Nebula winner!

Visit Mars for just $1.99 with this Nebula winner!

Red Mars, by Kim Stanley Robinson

Can a small team of humanity’s finest terraform a planet? Or will their very humanity tear them apart? Arthur C. Clarke called this one “the best novel on the colonization of Mars that has ever been written.” We call it thrilling sci fi at an awesome price.

Continue reading “Visit Mars for just $1.99 with this Nebula winner!”