Just $1.99 for the next few days, this fantasy has us mesmerized!

The City of Brass, by S. A. Chakraborty

We read the blurb, read the sample, and fell in love. At $1.99, we bought one for each of us. And then we bought one for Mom, too. It reminds us a bit of Laini Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer, even though it’s completely different. It’s also reminiscent of Helene Wecker’s The Golem and the Jinni, although it’s different from that one, too. We love so many authors, but there are few who can paint a complete scene without explanations. The right dialog, the right details (two or three at most, thrown in casually), and the world comes alive.

We can’t wait to dig into this one, and we couldn’t wait to share it with you!

   


From the publisher:

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal | Vulture | The Verge | SYFYWire

Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty, perfect for fans of The Golem and the JinniThe Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts.

On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences.

Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass.

It’s a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound—and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries.

*Finalist for the World Fantasy Award: Best Novel

*Nominated for the Locus Award: Best First Novel

*Finalist for the British Fantasy Award: Best Newcomer


Using our links to visit Amazon supports us with a small percent of anything you buy during that visit, from books to major appliances. Nobody pays us to recommend anything. We just find stuff we like.


Share this page!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *